Skiing

On Tuesday, we went skiing at Cataloochee Ski Area in Maggie Valley, NC, which is about two hours from here. Dad, Lauren, and I left really early and rode with some friends from church. I did not enjoy the first few hours at all—waiting in line, getting equipment, trying to walk in those huge heavy ski boots, practicing on the small hills, taking lessons, and going down the green slope for the first time, falling time after time. Lauren actually liked the lessons and mastered turning pretty quickly. We were both ready to quit, but Dad had told us that we couldn’t give up on skiing after the first try. I decided that I would try going down the green slope one more time, but Lauren stayed down on the bunny slopes. I had so much fun after that, and I came back down and persuaded Lauren to go with me. We fell a few more times, but after just a couple more runs, we could make it to the bottom without falling. The only part I hated was the ski lift. I fell almost every time getting off. Lauren and I even went alone a few times while Dad went to one of the blue slopes. I didn’t know you could ski in North Carolina, but I’m really glad you can, and I can’t wait to go again!

Jenna

 

This entry was posted in skiing, Snow. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

