Speech Contest

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve been working on a speech for a speech contest that is sponsored by Modern Woodmen of America. It is for grades 5 to 8.  The topic for this year was “A Time When Volunteers Made A Difference.” I chose to do my speech on the American Red Cross, specifically Hurricane Katrina. The speech had to be 3 to 5 minutes long. Last night was the county contest.

We had a school contest within the homeschool group on Tuesday, but since only three people participated, we were guaranteed a spot in county. So the contest on Tuesday was just to rank us, and I got second and won $30.

Anyway, last night, there were 3 people from 11 schools, with a total of 33 people that were divided into two groups. There were seventeen people in my group, along with their parents and relatives and the judges. We were judged on material organization, delivery and presentation and overall effectiveness. Some other volunteer organizations talked about were: Red Cross, Habitat for Humanity, American Cancer Society, Firefighters, Modern Woodmen, and Civil Rights Activists. In my group, I was one of two people who had theirs memorized. The awards were first, second, and third place trophies in each group, along with $50 for the first place winners. I won second place. The next contest is regional or state on May 3rd, but I’m not exactly sure which. The six people who won are going to this next contest, which includes me. The person who wins regional/state sends their video to national. So, I thought it was over, but instead, I get to give it again in front of more people!

Oh, and in celebration, we got to go out to eat at Zaxby’s afterwards with another family whose girl my age did the contest and won 1st in her group!

Lauren

This entry was posted in Community, Home school, School, Speech. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Speech Contest

  1. Sheri Schwed says:

    Good for you! Congratulations!!

  2. Mary Kay says:

    That is really impressive. Looking forward to seeing you on the 4th.

Leave a Reply

